Circuit Bench of Calcutta High Court will be established at Jalpaiguri

  • The Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi on February 6, 2019 approved the establishment of Circuit Bench of Calcutta High Court at Jalpaiguri.
  • It will have jurisdiction over four districts namely Darjeeling, Kalimpong, Jalpaiguri and Cooch Behar.
  •  The decision comes in the backdrop of the decision of the Calcutta High Court Full Court Meeting in 1988, Cabinet Decision on 16-6-2006 which approved the setting up of Circuit Bench of Calcutta High Court at Jalpaiguri and the visit by a team of Judges led by Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court to the proposed site of the Circuit Bench at Jalpaiguri on 30-08-2018 to assess the progress regarding the infrastructure facilities there.

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *