Sunil Arora Takes Charge as 23rd Chief Election Commissioner

  • Mr Sunil Arora took over as the 23rd Chief Election Commissioner of India on December 2, 2018. He was appointed as election commissioner in September 2017. 
  • He will have a nearly two-and-a-half-year tenure as Chief Election Commissioner with 2019 General Elections to be conducted under his stewardship. 
  • He succeeded Om Prakash Rawat who retired on December 2, 2018.
  • Sh. Sunil Arora took charge as Election Commissioner of India on 1st September 2017.
  • He is a retired civil servant (IAS, 1980 batch) belonging to the Rajasthan cadre. Sh. Arora brings rich leadership experience of over 35 years heading key departments while driving governance and policy reform initiatives both at Government of India (GOI) and State levels.
  • Sh. Arora retired in April 2016, following which he was appointed as an Advisor to Prasar Bharti followed by Director General & CEO of the Indian Institute of Corporate Affairs.
  • He is a graduate and post graduate in English from Panjab University.

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *