National awards for children renamed as Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar

  • The Central Government has revamped the National awards for children. Now it will known as the  Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar
  • This year the awards will be given to 26 shortlisted awardees including one joint award for National Child Award (now renamed as Bal Shakti Puraskar) under the category of innovation, scholastic, sports, arts & culture, social service and bravery.
  • The Ministry of Women and Child Development, Government of India has introduced a revamped award scheme under the name of “Pradhan Mantri National Children Awards”.
  • These awards will be given in two main categories. Bravery Awards have also been added to these awards now. The categories are as follows:
    • Bal Shakti Puraskar (erstwhile known as National Child Award)
    •  Bal Kalyan Puraskar(erstwhile known as National Child Welfare Award).
  •  Bal Shakti Puraskar shall be given in the following fields:
    • Innovation 
    • Social Service 
    • Scholastic 
    • Sports 
    • Art & Culture 
    • Bravery
  • The award carries a medal, a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000/-, book vouchers worth Rs. 10,000/-, a certificate and a citation.
  •  Bal Kalyan Puraskar shall be given in the following categories:-
    •  Individual
    •  Institution
  • The award for individual consists of a cash prize of Rs. 1, 00,000/- (one lakh), a medal, a citation and a certificate to each awardee.
  • The award for institution consists of a prize of Rs. 5,00,000/- each and a medal, a citation and a certificate.
  • The maximum number of awards would be 3(three) for National Child Welfare Award( Individual and Institution both)
  • A Child who is an Indian Citizen and residing in India can apply for National Child Award by registering on the web portal, filling the requisite information and attaching the relevant documents.
  • In order to draw wide response from public, any citizen of India can nominate any child who has achieved excellence in any of the field. Individuals who are citizen of India and have made an outstanding contribution for the cause of children in the field of Child Development, Child Protection and Child Welfare for not less than 7 years and have a positive impact on the lives of children and Institutions who have done exceptional work for the cause of children in any field of Child Welfare for 10 years can apply for the National Child Welfare Award. 

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *