J.K. Governor grants divisional status to Ladakh

  • Jammu and Kashmir Governor Satya Pal Malik on February 8, 2019 granted Ladakh a divisional status.
  • After this division, Jammu and Kashmir  now comprises three administrative divisions namely; Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh . Earlier, Ladakh was a part of the Kashmir division.
  • The new Ladakh division will comprise Leh and Kargil districts, with headquarters at Leh.
  • The total area of Kashmir valley will be 15,948 sq. km, Jammu division at 26,293 sq. km and Ladakh at 86,909 sq. km. It means Kashmir valley is now the smallest and Ladakh the largest division.
  • Ladakh will now get its own Divisional Commissioner and Inspector General of Police.
  • As per the State Government, during the winter months, the entire Ladakh region remains cut-off from the rest of the country for almost six months. The remoteness and inaccessibility of the area makes it eligible for establishing a separate division.
  • Ladakh’s Kargil and Leh districts already have separate hill development councils for local administrative powers.

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *